Pr A-M Roussel

5 Questions for Professor Anne-Marie Roussel



Anne-Marie Roussel is Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry at the Joseph Fourier Scientific and Medical University in Grenoble and has been a member of the Scientific Committee of the AGUETTANT Institute since it was formed.


• Institut: The Institute: In your opinion, what is the role of an institute dedicated to Essential Micronutrients ?

Pr Roussel: The Institute should play a major role in providing scientific education for healthcare professionals to share and update their knowledge in an often ignored but absolutely fascinating field.

• Institut: What made you agree to join the Institute's Scientific Committee when it was formed?

Pr Roussel: It seemed to me that the presence of an academic biologist and researcher, rather than a clinician, would make a meaningful addition to complement the recognised hospital practitioners. I also liked the team, the project and the “pioneering” spirit of the Institute right from the start.

• Institut: The Institute: When healthcare professionals attend the Institute's scientific meetings, what are they looking to find?

Pr Roussel: They find unbiased scientific information, a debate about the benefits and limitations of micronutrients in clinical nutrition and about the latest advances in the field, a group to listen to their problems and offer answers to their questions. And hopefully, after the session, they get a sense of belonging to a well-informed and well-motivated group. The Aguettant Institute relies on the participants at its scientific meetings to pass on the messages of good practices to those around them.

• Institut: Quels sont, selon vous, les meilleurs moyens de faire passer les informations importantes ?

Pr Roussel: To send out the right messages, it is crucial to:
- take ownership of the documents in circulation to master the knowledge base and to be able to redistribute them. Having confidence in the usefulness of the process really helps to get the message across,
- consider and formulate questions and answers relating to good practice and clinical experience.

• Institut: What would be your own message to the people reading this interview?

Pr Roussel: Professor Roussel: If you are interested in micronutrients, do join us! Make the most of the opportunity to join a limited community with access to its scientific meetings that are at the cutting edge, unbiased and an essential element of your profession.

Pr A-M Roussel

5 Questions au Professeur Anne-Marie Roussel



Anne-Marie Roussel, Professeur émérite de Biochimie à l'Université scientifique et médicale Joseph Fourier de Grenoble, fait partie du Comité Scientifique de l'Institut AGUETTANT depuis sa création.


• Institut: Quel est selon vous le rôle d'un institut dédié aux micronutriments essentiels ?

Pr Roussel: L'Institut doit jouer un rôle important d'éducation scientifique des professionnels de santé pour la diffusion et l'actualisation des connaissances dans un domaine très méconnu, pourtant essentiel, et tellement passionnant.

• Institut: Pour quelles raisons avez-vous accepté de faire partie du Comité Scientifique de l'Institut, lors de sa création ?

Pr Roussel: Il m'a semblé que, aux cotés de praticiens hospitaliers reconnus, la présence d'un universitaire non clinicien mais biologiste et chercheur, pouvait apporter une complémentarité intéressante. De plus, j'ai aimé d'emblée l'équipe, le projet et l'esprit « pionnier » de l'Institut.

• Institut: Que viennent chercher les professionnels de santé qui participent aux réunions scientifiques de l'Institut ?

Pr Roussel: Ils y trouvent une information scientifique indépendante, un débat sur l'intérêt et les limites des micronutriments en nutrition clinique, et sur les avancées les plus récentes dans ce domaine, une écoute collective de leurs problèmes et des réponses à leurs questions. Et, je l'espère, après la session, le sentiment de l'appartenance à un groupe informé et motivé. L'Institut Aguettant compte sur les participants aux réunions scientifiques pour transmettre autour d'eux les messages de bonnes pratiques.

• Institut: Quels sont, selon vous, les meilleurs moyens de faire passer les informations importantes ?

Pr Roussel: Pour transmettre les bons messages, il est essentiel de :
- s'approprier les documents distribués afin de bien maitriser la base de connaissances et pouvoir les retransmettre. Le fait d’être convaincu de l'utilité de la démarche aide grandement à faire passer le message,
- réfléchir et développer des questions et des réponses autour des bonnes pratiques et des expériences cliniques.

• Institut: Quel est le message particulier que vous souhaitez, vous, transmettre à ceux qui lisent cette
interview ?

Pr Roussel: Rejoignez-nous si les micronutriments vous intéressent ! Saisissez l'opportunité de participer en comité restreint à ces réunions scientifiques, de pointe et indépendantes, et tellement nécessaires à l'exercice de votre fonction.